IMPACT 6

In just a week, my trip to Bristol, UK for the IMPACT 6 conference and to New York is now over. Lucky for me, the sunshine seemed to follow me along the trip and back to the 90 degree weather in Los Angeles we are experiencing right now. Don’t let the pictures fool you, the weather was perfect this past week! I had an excellent stay at the Rosebury House bed and breakfast in Bristol. It was situated between the Bower Ashton Campus for the product fair and the centre of Bristol, and, owned by the sweetest, most accommodating family. Two other IMPACT guests from Switzerland and I would enjoy breakfast in the dining room every morning we were there, which included an array of fresh organic foods prepared by the couple.

This was my first visit to Europe, and it seemed to me, Bristol was a great place for the conference. Hosted by the Centre for Fine Print Research, University of the West of England, Bristol, the school and city centre was a very short bus/shuttle ride away from each other, with galleries and museums to enjoy in between. The product fair took place at the Bower Ashton campus for two days (9/18 & 9/19). For the show, I had brought along our newest inkjet series, Asuka and Metal/Kyokushi paper, as well as the Niyodo series. Accompanying the Asuka, I was able to bring Sugoroku prints and books from the Drachen Foundation, printed with our 75g Asuka in Natural. Come by our store to check out them out, and ask for their limited edition Sugoroku book also made with the Asuka. Besides our inkjet, I was able to introduce to the more traditional artists our Gampi and Color Gampi selections. And I was able to meet Kent Rush from the University of Texas, San Antonio, who was giving a demonstration of collotype printing and showed me his portfolio with work done on our Gampi paper, very neat to have met him there in England!

So, after this short trip for the conference, I stayed in New York an extra two days, more excitement for this car-bound LA gal! I was staying at a friend’s place in East Village, and was appropriately greeted by her Paris map mounted on her wall as I walked into her apt(it was definitely better mounted than my London map on my wall at home..) One of the stops I made in New York was Peter Bogardus‘ Chelsea studio, where I was shown his works on our Kochi Mashi and Kumohadamashi paper(used for his fine art book “Touba“). It was amazing to see the process he puts the washi through before the final product!

I will let the pictures do some of the talking for now..

Bristol, UK
Bristol, UK
IMPACT 6 Product Fair
IMPACT 6 Product Fair
Rosebery House
Rosebery House
Path to the Bower Ashton Campus
Path to the Bower Ashton Campus
Paris Map
Paris Map
Touba by Peter Bogardus on Kumohadamashi
Touba by Peter Bogardus on Kumohadamashi
Leave a Reply

